DIY bamboo lantern light fixture

Hey guys! First off, I’d happily like to announce that I’ve finally joined the land of the (social media) living! As in, after nine months of blogging I’ve finally opened a Facebook page for Operation Home. Woo-Hoo!  Here’s the link if you’d like to check it out (or you can click on my handy-dandy new Facebook icon right over in the sidebar).  I’d love for you to “like” my page and share it if you enjoy what you see on my humble little blog.  So, thanks a bunch!  I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you guys! 🙂

So, now onto lighting.  The next step in our foyer makeover.   So far we’ve traded out our shabby old rug for a round jute beauty, and completely revamped our cabinets, which transformed this…

IMG_2009

To this…

IMG_4810

Now to address El Boob Light….

Honestly, I wasn’t planning on changing out lighting just yet.  I’d been working on some other stuff that I called priority (which you’ll see eventually).  But the other day, as I sat outside on our back porch, staring at this…

IMG_5484

…a bamboo lantern that I got on clearance from Target about a year ago, it hit me.   LIGHTING FIXTURE!!!!!!

I ran inside at lightning speed and got to work as only I do when struck by sudden inspiration.  First, I removed the glass candle insert and the handle from the lantern, just to be sure that I could.  It was easy, peasy, so I moved onto our existing light fixture.   I simply removed the glass shade…

IMG_5485

Which left this…

IMG_5486

I stared at it for a while as I decided how to proceed.  I tried to simply slip the lantern over the three arms as is, just to see, but that didn’t work.  So, for the first time in my life, I manned up, turned off the power, and removed the fixture.  All. By. Myself.

IMG_5487

That’s right.  I totally told that guy who’s boss.

Next, I wanted to remove the circular disk from above the bulbs, so I disassembled the fixture to do so.

IMG_5490

My initial idea was to slip the disk through the cage in the lantern to secure it to the fixture.  Unfortunately, the disk was a bit too big…

IMG_5492

Next, I tried to slip the lantern over the three curved arms, thinking that they could act as hooks to hold the lantern in place.  It was also a no-go.  Then, I  realized that I could remove said arms…

IMG_5491

I figured that I could remove them, thread them through the lantern and then screw them back in.  But the only way that I could keep the lantern centered in doing so was to thread the arms through the open end of the lantern.  Which meant that to change out the light bulbs, I’d have to completely remove and disassemble the fixture.  Nope!  Wrongo.  Not happening.

So, I decided to just completely strip down the fixture to its simplest form and then suspend the lantern from the ceiling rather than from the fixture.

You can see that I removed the three arms leaving holes in the ceiling plate.   Joey assured me that we would not be invaded by rabid spiders in doing so.   I really hope that I believe him.

Anyways, next I needed to decide how to hang the lantern.  After tossing around a few options, I decided that installing hooks into the ceiling and hanging the lantern via string was the way to go.  This way, whenever we needed to change out the light bulbs the lantern would be easily removable.  So, I purchased these…

IMG_5700

…for around 5 bucks total.  I chose the smallest hooks I could find that still looked like they’d hold the lantern securely.  Fortunately, the lantern is pretty lightweight.  I installed the hooks very close to the ceiling plate to give the illusion that they were part of the fixture (or at least to help them blend in a bit more).  And then I used fishing line to secure the lantern in place…

IMG_5699

Excuse the pink smudges.  I had just spackled.

Anyways, the hooks work really well, but I’ll probably still keep a casual eye out for smaller ones to switch to to make them even less obvious.   I also went ahead and changed to smaller 60 watt bulbs to allow more clearance from the wood.  As of now, there’s a good three inches of space between the bulbs and lantern.

And, here’s the final product…

IMG_5722

IMG_5507

IMG_5518

IMG_5502

I’m really loving how the fixture turned out.  It makes such a difference in the feeling of the foyer.  I love the rustic, graphic punch of fun that it delivers. It compliments the jute rug nicely and adds some organic curviness and interest. And you can’t beat the price. The lantern originally cost me around $15 when I purchased it a year ago. And the hooks and fishing line were five bucks. So, twenty dollars total. Plus, I now possess the knowledge that I can change a light fixture. By.Myself.  Which is priceless. And possibly dangerous since now I want to change THEM ALL.  (Heehee!!   Mischeivously rubs hands together)

So, what kind of projects do you have going on right now? Any DIY light fixtures happening in your neck of the woods?

img_5724-e1399840681421

 

Linking up at:

My Pinterventures Merry Monday link Party
Tatortots and Jello Link Party
Natasha in Oz Link party
A Bowl Full Of Lemons Link Party!
Home Stories A to Z Tutorials and Tips Link Party!

The DIY Dreamer
Put A Bird On It
TDC Before and After

Superlucas to the rescue!!!

And that’s one.   One of what?  One of the cute things Lucas says.   That’s right… I had to do it.  I had to document these things, because I’ll forget despite my greatest efforts.

And I must remember.  So, I can have blackmail a record for when he’s older.  So, I’m doing it. Right here on my DIY blog.  A total off-topic post about our son’s cuteness.   And, yes, I’m aware that this post may only be entertaining to me, but still… Had to do it. Especially with Mother’s Day right around the corner. 🙂

A few of these are repeats of my Facebook posts, but I wanted them to all be one place. So, sorry if you’ve seen these before.

So, here’s our funny, lovable, busting-with-personality three-year-old (wearing his Daddy’s hat)…

IMG_3536

I love this face.   🙂

And here we go…

Lucas.  He cries for no reason sometimes.

Me: “Why are you crying?”.
Lucas: “I dunnnnnooooo.”

or…

Lucas: “I try to stop crying, but I caaaan’t!” (The funniest part about this is that he says it randomly and with a look of complete and total dumbfoundedness over his inability to stop crying).

or…

Me: “Why are you crying?”,
Lucas: “You mad at me. And I cry. I just wuv you so much!!”  (P.s. I wasn’t mad. I just asked why he got up from bed.)

Lucas.  He hates my singing:

Lucas: “Shhh! Daddy’s sleeping.”
Me: “No he’s not.  He’s washing dishes.”
Lucas:  “Shhh! Daddy’s washing dishes.” (Doh!)

Lucas.  He quotes Seinfeld…

Joey: “Lucas, how’s your dinner?”
Lucas: “The best, Jerry, the BEST!”

Lucas.  He cracks us up even when he’s serious:

“I’m so sorry to you. It’s all my fauwt.” (Insert droopy head with pathetic expression)

Me: “Lucas, you wanna do yoga with me?”
Lucas: “No, because I not a girl anynore.” (Ummmm…..) (…and that’s not a typo… Anynore=Anymore)

Lucas.  He’s a hungry guy:

“I like footballs and basketballs and MEATBALLS!!!!

or…

Lucas: “Can I have more cookies?”
Me: “No more for today, buddy.”
Lucas: “But, I want more cookiesIloveyou.”  (Insert puppy-eyes)  Good effort, son.  Nice.

Lucas.  The superhero:  

“Come on, Papa.  Lets go save someone!”

or…

“When I six, I fix everyfing. Because I’m SUPERMAN-FIRETRUCK!!!”

or…

During breakfast one morning…
Lucas: (panicked) “Mommy! Mommy! Where’s my cape??!”
Me: “I took it off you last night before you went to bed. Ill get it after you finish eating.”
Lucas: (eyes tearing up) “But…” (Insert quivering boo-boo lip) “But… I can’t fly wivvout my cape.”
Me: (drops everything) “I’ll get it now.”

Lucas.  He’s a smart guy:

Joey: “What time is it?”
Me: “I dunno.”
Lucas (at 2 years old): “It’s time for a clock!”

or…

“Good driving, mommy!”  (…said no one ever before him.  Bless you, son.)

Or (…my personal favorite. I know. What beats the driving one??)….

“I like you. You knows everyfing.” Yep. Yep, that’s right. Yep, he said that to me.

Lucas.  Always the gentleman:

Lucas (at the dinner table at 18 months old): (BUUUUURP!!)
Joey: “Say excuse me.”
Lucas: “Cue Kee!” (FAKE BURP SOUND!!)
Me: “Not at the table, buddy.”
Lucas: (disappointed expression)…(pause)… Then, he screams “FART!”

or…

He runs out of our bedroom with a bra around his belly screaming “I no touch boobies!” (Yes, this is an ongoing conversation about personal space.  He improvised by incorporating undergarments. We’re working on it.)

Lucas.  He’s totally random…

(Mac talking on the phone with my mom)  Lucas interrupts with: “Is that Jake from State Farm?”

Lucas: “Daddy, you have whiskers!”
Joey: “I do. Where are your whiskers?”
Lucas: “They gone.”
Joey: “Where’d they go?”
Lucas: “They go to Walmart.”

Lucas.  He’s a practical guy:

Me: “It’s cold outside. You have to wear a hat.”
Lucas:  “I don’t wanna wear a hat. I just wanna wear my head.”

or…

“I don’t wanna go to sleep.  I just wanna wake up.”

or…

(Lucas being loud)
Joey: “Lucas, Shhhhhhh!”,
Lucas: “Why? Who’s sleeping?”

Lucas.  He may have been born in his thirties:

Me: “After your nap we can go get some ice cream!”
Lucas: “Okay, but chocolate will keep me awake.”

or…

Papa: “Lucas, can I borrow your car?”
Lucas: “You kidding me, man?”  (The respect for adults conversation is also ongoing.  But this cracked my dad up to no end because it was so unexpected.)

or…

Me: “Lucas, you need anything?”
Lucas:  “No, I fiiiiine.”  (He says this all the time… I just never wanna forget it.)

or…

Tony: “Can I have a hug?”
Lucas: “Well… (pause) It’s up to you.”

Lucas.  He’s a loving guy:

Gramma: “Lucas, do you like edamame?” (pronounced edamommy)
Lucas:  “Yes! And I like daddy too!”

or…

“Here’s a rock, mommy. JUST FOR YOU.”

or…

“Daddy don’t go to work. Because I love you.”

or..

“I love Jesse. I go to Oregon. ”

Lucas. He knows what’s up…

Me (In November, as we drove through my parents neighborhood): “Lucas, who are the flags for?”
Lucas: “Uncle Alex!”
Me: “Why?”
Lucas: “Because he’s a hero!!” (Damn straight, kid.)

Glossary of Terms:

Ma-Shake-ahs = marrachas

Skunkly  Snuggly Sungalee Stinklee = slinky

Ant mill = Oatmeal

Pajah-meees = Pajamas

Compruurrurr = computer

Bruuubuury = blueberry

Banklet = Blanket

Maffles = Waffles

Rester-o-haunt =Restaurant

Nanilla = Vanilla (which (fun fact!) is how I used to say it when I was his age)

I’m sure there are many more that I’m forgetting, but it’s a start.   I’m sorry to say that I never kept a baby book.  I just never was organized enough to make it happen at the time.  Probably the new mom, sleep-deprived thing (although, given the percentage of sleep-deprived moms who actually do keep a baby book, I have no excuse).  So, I thought I’d pepper in some memorable posts like these that I’ll want to look back on later.

So, tell me… what cute things do your kids say?